New Years Resolutions

I usually don’t make resolutions. I just think that if there is something you want to change about yourself you can do that any day you want. But the whole world seems to do it on New Years day so I thought I’d give it a try.

This year I resolve to…

Put my outdoor furniture away before spring.( If I procrastinate long enough it turns into thinking ahead )

Finish digging the pond in the back yard. (there are Koi out there just waiting for me to adopt them)

Fix the gutters and paint the house ( this has been on the list for a while now )

Shoot Steven repeatedly with a Nerf gun ( He started it . He bought one with his Christmas money. I bought one to get even )

Shoot Pearl, Audrey, and Ben repeatedly with a Nerf gun ( just because it’s fun and the gun is just sooo cool  it shoots like a machine gun)

Make Ben feel like more of a part of the family ( He’s now my son, that entitles him to all that brings. My love, respect, feeling that my house is his home also, making jokes at him, and shooting him with a Nerf gun )

Become a great grandfather ( buy my granddaughter a Nerf gun to protect herself from Steven )

Become more involved at church ( I wonder if they have a Nerf ministry or a Nerf addicts support group )

Attend small group ( Maybe we could have a Nerf night. I’ll bring my own gun)

Lose twenty pounds ( running from Stevens gun should help with that)

Steal Steven’s darts so he is defenseless ( a great idea)

Study God’s word more ( I’m awful at keeping at it. I’ll do it for a while then I’ll miss a couple of days. No Nerf joke here )

Give tomatoes one more try ( just kidding, I’d rather get shot by Steven)

Do more to show Pearl how much I love and respect her for all the little things she does , like being a great mother, like being my best friend,  like keeping Steven and I alive. No words can express my love for her. She is the reason I am what I am today. ( maybe I’ll shoot her less or maybe buy her her own gun )

Well I think that’s it . A pretty typical list I think . I think I’ll go shoot Steven to wake him up.

3 Responses to “New Years Resolutions”

  1. What a great list. Maybe I’ll spend the year just shooting you with scriptural truth bullets – you know-just to help with your Bible studying.

  2. I love it. See I think the nerf gun idea is awesome. I bought Eric and his dad one last christmas for here at work. It’s funny to see grown men leaping behind bags of feathers and hiding under tables.

  3. I’m not so sure I want to come over tomorrow now.

Leave a Reply

